GDPR Cookie Consent by SimpleServe Privacy Script Frequently Asked Questions - AAD Consumer Forum

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Frequently Asked Questions

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What is Council Tax?
    Council Tax helps to pay for local services – like education, parks and household refuse collection.

The amount you have to pay depends on which property band your home is in. Your bill will be less if you qualify for Council Tax Benefit or other reductions.

2. I live alone how do I claim my 25% discount? - Sole Adult Resident Applications. You will need to complete a Sole Adult Resident Discount form, available from any council office. These are usually accessible online on your council’s website.
    An adult resident is any person aged 18 years or over living at the property. The discount can only be claimed against one address.

3. I am a student, am I exempt from council tax? - Full-time students are only exempt if the property they live in is occupied solely by other students. You will need to send in your student certificate to your council before anything can be awarded. If there are any non-students in the property you may have something to pay. You should contact your local council if you are unsure or want further information. Any changes in occupants or student status should be notified to your council as soon as possible.
    (Full time = at least 21hrs/week for 24 weeks in any single academic or calendar year)